Great stART: Piep Piep Piep or making watches with toddlers

 Welcome to another story+ art = great stART (for more on “start projects” visit the original A Mommy’s Adventure). I was fretting a little about this week’s story & craft project, as I have a couple of “complicated ones” up my sleeve, but also want to keep encouraging everyone to have a go. Mess is good. But no mess is also good.

And then Red Ted pulled this book from the shelf! And inspiration came!

Piep, Piep, Piep: Das Buch der Töne und Geräusche Piep, Piep, Piep: Das Buch der Töne und Geräusche, by Soledad Bravi. Originally in French, so get that if German is no good for you!  A lovely (soft?) board book – it has many images of different every day things and all the sounds that they make. I particularly like it that the “plug says – no no no!” and that the christmas tree sings “oh tannenbaum”. Fabulous. Simple. Red Ted (2.5 yrs) always make me sing to the christmas tree, but also likes many of the other pages. It is really nice that we can enjoy this book with Pip Squeak (8mths) too, as she loves the bright colours and the fun noises. Depending on the month, Red Ted has a different favourite page. Currently, we get stuck on the watch page (tick tack), mainly because I showed him an old Swatch Flick Flack that used to be mine and told him once it has a new battery he can have it.

We were also given a read the time activity book which he loves drawing in.Needless to say, he hasn’t got a clue and cannot tell the time. He is not a wonderchild, but the point is, he is taking an interest in time. And we talk about time. And I tell him what time we do what.

So. The craft project. This is super easy.It took 2 min per watch. We made them more on a whim than anything else. I just realised that, I made them all. Mmh, I guess Red Ted gave me instructions (mainly “more”), but we did discuss time (what time shall I do next, Red Ted?) and he did want some for his friends. And you do learn through watching?! Below there are some more crafty suggestions.

 

1) Materials: Loo Roll, Scissors, Paper, Pen, Sellotape 

2) Cut a strip of loo roll: the armband 

3) Cut a circle and draw a watch face 

4) Sellotape on (you can glue it, but takes a while to dry! 

DONE! 

Variations: 

  • let your toddler decorate the wristband and watch face:
  • decorate loo roll: with feathers, fake gems, paint, pens, whatever takes your fancy (avoid glitter with this one, you will have it ALL over the house)
  • instead of loo roll, cut a strip of coloured card and sellotape it – good for older childrenwith bigger wrists.
  • Maybe you can be SUPER crafty and with a pin make a moving clock arms

This was freatured on Beyond The Picket Fence   and  

Previous Crafts: 

stART:  Bear Cards & Strawberry Growing Video 

stART: Touchy Feely Book – That is not my Puppy 

stART: Jolly Postman & Greeting cards from Toddler Art 

Book & Cook – Duckies Rainbow & Rainbow Cookies 

stART – Story Telling, Bunnies & Stars 

stART: Giraffe’s can’t dance – a Giraffe Loo Roll Marionette 

stART: Chick – a Pop Up Card 

Book & Cook: Alphabet Cookies – Learning through play 

stART: Busy Airport – Cotton Wool Clouds and, erm, PIGS! 

stART: Hit &Myth – a mix & match book for older children (>5yrs)     

stART: Story & Thank you time – inspirational thank you cards    

stART: Hurray for Fish – one for babies or messy toddlers!     

stART: Bedtime Star – Red Ted, makes a starry night for Pip Squeak’s nursery    

stART: The Way Back Home, Oliver Jeffers – Red Ted makes a plane and a UFO    

Craft: Peg animals – toddlers can help! 

 

44 responses to this post.

  1. I have been saving our tp rolls for an occasion such as this it seems. I hate throwing things away sometimes but what was I going to make? Great idea and we’ll prob be doing this tomorrow. thanks for the idea

    new follower from look what i made 😉

    Reply

  2. awww those are watches so cute! how clever!

    Reply

  3. We are sooo making these this weekend. Lovely idea!!

    Reply

  4. Awesome..Thank you so very much I will be undertaking this craftiness tomorrow – the small boy & girl will absolutely love them. Thanks. Peta

    Reply

  5. that book looks so cute love the watches! we will have to make some 🙂 following you now 🙂

    Reply

  6. Great way to recycle those TP rolls! Kids love watches and this is a super project to make when teaching about time!

    Reply

  7. Very nice! I think my youngest would like that quite a bit.

    Reply

  8. Oh!!! I thought we were the only people in the world who knew about this book. We have it in French but are not beyond a bit of simultaneous translation. The girls absolutely love it. In fact I was saying yesterday that I didn’t understand why it didn’t exist in English… maybe it does… and if not, that’s my next project (only without the “tape qui fait paf”)

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 8, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      Ooooh, so nice to find a “fellow” Piep Piep Piep reader. I do love the book. Am doing an alphabet book (English German) in a v similar style (accident, started the alphabet before we got this book… but am so distracted by twitter, that I am not sure I will ever finish it sigh).

      Reply

  9. Incidentally, in French, Christmas says “Jingel (sic) bells”. Explain that one?!

    Reply

  10. You are so creative. I may have to make this with my grandkids. I am passing your blog on to my daughters for ideas. Thanks for the Twitter shout out.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 9, 2010 at 6:59 am

      Am so pleased you enjoyed the blog! And thank you so much for passing it on! Very much appreciated!!

      Reply

  11. Well, that is very clever. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by JDaniel4's Mom on July 9, 2010 at 9:31 am

    The watches are so cute. My son would love to have a watch like his dad’s.

    Reply

  13. Ok the project is super cute. But I love you said Loo Roll. So much better than the alternative. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by Amy on July 9, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Thanks for this wonderful idea.. I am so glad you linked up and shared this.. I can’t wait to make one with my little one..

    Reply

  15. Hi,

    I’m visiting from `Round Robin.’
    This is a really cute idea.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  16. I love this! I will have to share it with Laci’s school. I think they would have fun making this! Again, great job and thanks for linkin to It’s Stinkin Cute Craft Thursday!

    Reply

  17. Cute idea! And I love how you say “loo roll”!! I’ve been saving them and paper towel rolls too. My family thinks I’m nuts for doing so, but you never know when you might need them for a project.

    Stopping by via stART!

    Reply

  18. This seems like a great idea for helping kids learn how to tell time too. Put the noon watch on at lunchtime etc.

    Thanks so much for linking up to Finished for Friday!

    Reply

  19. No toilet roll watches in our house I am afraid. They’ve all been painted as telescopes to go with the egg box boats for true Pirate action! Another day!!

    Reply

  20. cute and smart ideas.

    Reply

  21. What a cleaver project and idea to go with the books you read. My kids use to love to wear watches when they were little. Very well done!

    Reply

  22. Those are so fun, I want to do them with my kids. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

  23. My boys would love this. They are always asking for a watch. Seeing that they have yet to have a toy that hasn’t been broken or dismantled in 5 minutes after receiving it. I think you watch craft is the better and cheaper solution for me. Thanks!

    Reply

  24. Here from Tip Junkie – cute idea! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  25. My 2 year old loves time too! He points at every clock and says, “clock”. I think we’ll have to make this.

    Reply

  26. Thanks for joining us for Anything Related! ~Bridgette

    Reply

  27. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  28. I so love your story and craft ideas! This will be another one I must do with me kids!

    Thanks for linking this up as well!

    Reply

Leave a comment