How To… Make an Amigurumi (Crochet Animal Friends) Guest Post

  

I am VERY excited to bring you Clara from amieggs and her most adorable Amigurumi or Crocheted Small Things. She makes wonderful creations, that are normally available for purchase. But she has decided to be VERY generous and share two of her patterns with you. Below you will find the most adorable teddy and then hop over to her blog for a bunny (get it – “hop over”? ahem). She has inspired me to learn to crochet. I have never been interested before.. but now, my crochet hooks are on order! Woohoo. Over to the lovely Clara and her fabulous creations:

Hello! My name is Clara and I run the amieggs blog over at http://ami-eggs.blogspot.com/ =)

I love crocheting, and dedicate my blog to all my creations. The name of the blog, amieggs, comes from the name I’ve given my own little creatures:
Amieggs are little crochet eggs dressed up as a bunch of things… from animals to food! Here are some of my favorites:
The fox, the penguin, the elephant and the corn on the cob!
I also enjoy crocheting furniture. My first project was this tiny living room:
And I further on moved to slightly bigger furniture like the following armchair, in a 1:6 scale to fit my Blythe doll =)
I sell my patterns and eggs in my etsy shop, you can visit it here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/nayami
Today, I would like to share a free pattern with you all!!! It is part of the newest patern in my shop, the toy chest! 

As you can see, in my patterns I draw diagrams to explain the difficult parts of a project and include many pictures to make your work as easy as possible!!!

While the toy chest pattern is available in my shop, you can get the teddy bear pattern here totally for free and the bunnies pattern on my blog! Hope you enjoy it, and I love to see all your finished creations!!! Feel free to leave a comment on my blog (http://ami-eggs.blogspot.com/) or even share your pictures with me on flickr!!! (http://www.flickr.com/photos/clara_amigurumi/)
Teddy bear
You will need:
Tan cotton yarn
A number 5 crochet hook
A yarn needle
Head:
1 – make a ring with 6 stitches
2  – inc each stitch (total 12 stitches)
3 – sc 1, inc 1: repeat 6 times (total 18 stitches)
4 – sc 3, inc 1, sc 2: repeat 3 times (total 21 stitches)
5 – sc 1, inc 1, sc 5: repeat 3 times (total 24 stitches)
6 through 9 – sc 1 on each stitch (total 24 stitches)
10 – sc 1, dec 1, sc 5: repeat 3 times (total 21 stitches)
11 – sc 3, dec 1, sc 2: repeat 3 times (total 18 stitches)
12 – sc 1, dec 1: repeat 6 times (total 12 stitches)
13 – dec 6 (total 6 stitches)
Stuff and bind off
Body:
1 – make a ring with 6 stitches
2 – inc each stitch (total 12 stitches)
3 through 5 – sc 1 on each stitch (total 12 stitches)
6 – sc 2, dec 1: repeat 3 times (total 9 stitches)
7 through 8 . sc 1 on each stitch (total 9 stitches)
Bind off leaving long tail for sewing, stuff and sew to head.
Nose:
1 – ch 2
2 – ch 1 to turn, sc 1 on each stitch and one on the ends (total 6 stitches, see diagram)
3 – sc 6
Bind off leaving a long tail for sewing. Embroider nose, stuff and sew to the head.
Arms:
1 – Make a ring with 4 stitches
2 – sc 1, increase 1: repeat 2 times (total 6 stitches)
3 through 6 – sc 6
Bind off leaving long tail for sewing, stuff and sew to body.
Legs:
1 – Make a ring with 4 stitches
2 – sc 1, increase 1: repeat 2 times (total 6 stitches)
3 through 7 – sc 6
Bind off leaving long tail for sewing, stuff and sew to body.
Ears:
1 – ch 1
2 – ch 1 to turn, sc 3 stitches in 1 stitch.
3 – ch 1 to turn, increase 3 (sc 2 on each stitch)
4 – ch 1 to turn, sc 6
Bind off leaving long tail and sew onto head.
Finally, attach a brown ribbon around the teddy bear’s neck and cut the edges into a V shape.

 

Clara @ amieggs
I can’t wait for my crochet hooks to arrive… and to get learning!
 
Previous How Tos:
 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Adorable. I love to crochet…I’m in the middle of making an afghan right now…

    My link for you… WIZARD OF OZ
    Do come by to say hello if you have time!

    Reply

  2. Totally adorable–each and every one.

    Reply

  3. you’ve got a typo in the post title 😉

    Love the crochet furniture, that’s absolutely fabulous.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 29, 2010 at 6:00 am

      Thank you for the typo heads! I am notorious for it!! All fixed now! And yes, isn’t the furniture just adorable!

      Reply

  4. I have a niece that crochets. I’m forwarding this post to her. Thanks for sharing these cute little animals. ~ Sarah

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm

      Hi Sarah

      Oooh, thank you so much for forwarding on! Much appreciated!!

      I am about to launch my “new” site.. could you let her have that link?! http://www.redtedart.com/?p=3659

      Really appreciate!! Always so hard to redirect everyone!!!!

      Thank you

      Maggy

      Reply

  5. Hello…

    Wow…I love your little crochet animals and furniture! What a talented lady you are! I have crocheted before but have never made anything so intricate! Thank you for sharing these darlings with us…as well a the pattern for Sunday Favorites this week!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

    Reply

Leave a comment