story + Art = great stART – Walks in park, Leaf Trouble, Loo Roll Marionette Birds

 

As we have been getting some hotter days this year, we have made a few trips to the park recently. Whilst there, we played ball, look at the stream and collected some leaves. Now, I know autumn is the absolute best time for collecting leaves, but as Red Ted was keen, I thought, why not!? I did horrify me to realise that when it comes to leaves, I am clueless. I will have to brush up!

So once we came home, I found a book on leaves. It is about Autumn really, but it is the nicest one I could find on relatively short notice:

 

Leaf craft

Leaf Trouble Leaf Trouble, Jonathan Emmett. This book tells the story of a little squirrel called Pip (perfect for our Pip Squeak!). Pip wakes one day to find that things are different: the leaves are changing colour and falling off the tree. Surely this isn’t right?! What is happening. His mum comes and explains why it is happening and that the leaves will come back again – a little like how the sun sets and comes back again the next day. I love the ending, where Pip compares the beautiful autumn colours to the setting sun. Very pretty.

So. What to make?

We have the leaves. But leaves can become brittle with time. I decided we should try leave rubbing – to discover that Red Ted is still too small. So I changed it to leaf printing and painting!

He loved it! And had great joy doing it all by himself. Choosing colours. Painting and printing. I also found that your preserve the leaf a little if you paint it with acryclic paints. But in a way that seems a shame – you want to look at the lovely colours, no?

Whilst at it, he painted some loo rolls too.

And I decided t make some autumnal birds. One out of Red Ted’s craft and one out of mine. I selected Red Ted’s prints that worked together well (greens, blacks and greys) and picked an orange set of mine to represent autumn. I used all pieces of string from gift bags & pepples/ forked sticks for feet and marionette handles. (I think the pictures speak for themselves):

   

Previous Craft Porjects:

Craft: Cork Boats

stART:Piep Piep Piep, Loo Roll Watches

stART:  Bear Cards & Strawberry Growing Video 

stART: Touchy Feely Book – That is not my Puppy 

stART: Jolly Postman & Greeting cards from Toddler Art 

Book & Cook – Duckies Rainbow & Rainbow Cookies 

stART – Story Telling, Bunnies & Stars 

stART: Giraffe’s can’t dance – a Giraffe Loo Roll Marionette 

stART: Chick – a Pop Up Card 

Book & Cook: Alphabet Cookies – Learning through play 

stART: Busy Airport – Cotton Wool Clouds and, erm, PIGS! 

stART: Hit &Myth – a mix & match book for older children (>5yrs)     

stART: Story & Thank you time – inspirational thank you cards    

stART: Hurray for Fish – one for babies or messy toddlers!     

stART: Bedtime Star – Red Ted, makes a starry night for Pip Squeak’s nursery    

stART: The Way Back Home, Oliver Jeffers – Red Ted makes a plane and a UFO    

Craft: Peg animals – toddlers can help!

36 responses to this post.

  1. Adorable!!! Looks like a lot of fun!

    Reply

  2. Posted by MummyMatters on July 21, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Wow looks like you had lots of fun. I always dread painting and crafts but its never as bad as I think its going to be once I get started! And the kids always love it – I’m feeling inspired perhaps a little arts and crafts in the morning!!

    Reply

  3. It’s so much fun to paint on a different surface. My kids love it too.

    Reply

  4. The birds turned out really cute. Thanks for sharing this book and project!

    Reply

  5. Oh wow these look amazing I am so impressed!! I will have to look for this book to it looks really cute, I will add it to our list for the fall.

    Thank you for linking up to stART!!

    Reply

  6. Love the birds, very cute.

    Reply

  7. You are just so stinkin crafty! Where do you get all of these cool ideas? I feel like I am getting an F as a mother. Seems like I never get the time at home do do these fun things with my tyke. Awesome! Just so stinkin awesome! Thanks for linkin to It’s Stinkin’ Cute Craft Thursday as always!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 22, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      Oh no! Please don’t feel like you are getting an F in Motherhood. That would be totally contrary to what I want to achieve with this blog. Here to inspire not depressed!!!!! Aaaarrrrggggh. I bet you are really good at other motherly things that I am not (you should see the state that their cupboards and drawers are in for example…). But am pleased that you “like”…

      Reply

  8. Those are just excellent – I love them! And, it looks like Red Ted had a ball.

    Reply

  9. I love the marionettes. They look great.

    Although I have to admit, I’m not ready a bit ready for fall to arrive……..=)

    Reply

  10. what a great project! I love how they came out…so fun!!!

    Reply

  11. Posted by JDaniel4's Mom on July 23, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I love the puppets and the leaf rubbings. These are wonderful!

    Reply

  12. Absolutely adorable! Love the trimmed rolls to form the bird beak – so smart! Thanks for linking up to Little Sprout Books: Feed Me Books Friday is HERE!

    Reply

  13. How cute!!! that is a great idea!

    Reply

  14. What a resourceful person you are, adjusting the craft to suit his skills. The results speak for themselves. He is a lucky little guy, you feed his mind and his creativity so well. Thanks for linking up to Finished for Friday!

    Reply

  15. I love the project! I’ll have to think of a way we might do this.

    Reply

  16. Hello…

    Ohhh…I love the marionettes! What a great art/craft project to do with the little ones! Your post took me back to when my three daughters were small and still at home…we were always crafting! Thanks for sharing your post with us today for Sunday Favorites…it’s sooo nice to have you join in with the fun!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

    Reply

  17. Really cute! my kiddos would love to make these, glad I found your site we will be homeschooling in the fall and will be checking back to steal some of your ideas!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 26, 2010 at 7:43 am

      I would be honoured to know that homeschooled children are deriving some benefit from my blog! 🙂

      Reply

  18. Those are adorable!!!! So creative!

    Reply

  19. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  20. I love how you reused the paper tubes and they puppets turned out beautifully!!

    Reply

  21. Posted by teachingyoungchildren on July 27, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I am adding the book and the craft to the list of things to try in the fall – very pretty!

    Reply

  22. Such a fab idea! and how cute is your little one? …Adorable! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 27, 2010 at 8:07 pm

      Aaaah thanks! Glad you like them! We certainly had fun making them!! And yes, Red Ted loves painting the most of all our crafty activity! x

      Reply

  23. Very fun!
    You don’t cease to amaze me! 🙂
    Thanks for linking this up as well!

    Reply

  24. Sorry I am late getting to see your project…thanks for joining us last week for Anything Related! ~Bridgette

    Reply

  25. Love this craft and book and will be linking back to you on Monday.

    Reply

Leave a comment