Kid’s Book & Kid’s iphone App review – Dr. Seuss One Fish, Two Fish & Dr. Seuss’s ABC

Kid’s  Book and Kid’s iPhone App reviews continue. For my “reasons” behind “Why Apps?!” look here. Type “Kids” or “children” or “educational” into the Apple iStore and you get bombarded with Apps. Which to get?! Look no further…

 I am linking this up this week’s Jenny Matlock Alphabet Soup! Any letter goes… but as there is the wonderful Dr Seuss ABC review below, I thought it would be rather fitting! We love Dr Seuss and all his quirky books and we love his ABC!

Be sure to come back in about 2 weeks time I will be running a fabulous Giveaway with Duck Duck Moose and you can win some of their excellent iphone Apps like Baa Baa Black Sheep & Fish School!

Kid’s Book Review – Dr Seuss One Fish, Two Fish Nursery edition

Dr. Seuss Nursery - One Fish, Two Fish, Three, Four, Five Fish!: Bead BookOne Fish, Two Fish Nursery Edition. Dr Seuss. We all know and love Dr Seuss. I didn’t actually grow up with it, so for me every “new” book is a new discovery. However, I particularly like this Dr Seuss’s nursery edition. Not only do you get the wonderful One Fish, Two Fish counting book, with the marvelous Dr Seuss illustrations and trademark rythm, but the 5 little fish on the top act as counters. Red Ted (2.5yrs) and Pip Squeak, just play with them, but still, counters they are. Something is going somewhere subconsciously! Also means, that Pip Squeak likes this book a lot earlier than she may have done. (Oh and you get to explore colours too!).

Kid’s iphone App Review: Dr Seuss’s ABC

Dr Seuss’s ABC. I am a Kid’s iPhone App convert and do let Red Ted play every so often (under supervision, as he accidently deletes stuff!). My most recent acquisition is the Dr Seuss ABC App. Now, how can you feel bad if the little one is learning the alphabet. What I really like about this App, isn’t just the Dr Seuss drawings and colours, but in particularly the music and voiceover. Both done very nicely, with a lovely flowing rhythm to it. Brilliant. Also, tap on an image and the word will appear. Will definitely help with literacy skills! (0r so I tell myself! ). Red Ted really enjoys this App.  At 2.5yrs I thought he may be too  young for it, but he isn’t. I think he likes the music but also the words appearing and scrolling along the pages. For older children, you can switch the sound off and they can “read to themselves”. The tapping and scrolling still works!

Also linking up with these wonderful book sharing blogs!!

      Photobucket   Weekly Linky on My Blog  

16 responses to this post.

  1. Dr. Seuss’ books are brilliant. Cool to see them in these new formats!

    Reply

  2. Love Dr Seuss books – great new format!

    Have a lovely weekend, LOLA:)

    PS Mine this time is HERE. Hope you can join me!

    Reply

  3. As a grandmother love to read children’s book reviews! I have a T Mobile droid so I’ll to look for a similar app…that one is really nice!

    Reply

  4. I remember reading the Dr. Seuss books to my son when he was little. He got great enjoyment out of them and I believe helped him learn to read faster. Great post.

    Reply

  5. I have to get this App for my little ones. Thanks for posting.

    Reply

  6. this is my favourite authour

    Reply

  7. Two of my favorites!

    Reply

  8. I’ll have to try this out on my iPod!

    Reply

  9. Posted by soulintention: signed .............bkm on July 23, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Nice post…I love Dr. Suess..bkm

    Reply

  10. I still love anything Suessian. Technology sure has inserted itself everywhere these days.

    Reply

  11. Love the counters on the fish book – very friendly to little fingers!

    Reply

  12. I’ve never quite broken down and bought an app for the kids. So far I’ve only used the free ones.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

      Oh the free ones are great too. Especially the “Lite” versions – will do a few review of those soon too! Definitely not to be knocked!

      Reply

  13. Dr Suess books are not my favorites, because of all their strange words, but I do like One Fish, Two Fish, and Green Eggs and Ham 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by teachingyoungchildren on July 25, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Thanks for joining WMCIR! I get iApps from time to time for Anna too, and it’s nice for the times when we have to wait. My IRL friend has a nice site with reviews for iApps – http://apps4ikids.com/

    Reply

  15. What a fun addition to our Alphabet Soup this week!

    I purchased an entire set of Dr. Seuss books at a garage sale a month or so ago…and that is all the Grands want read to them!

    It will be fun to see this new technology! Although I suspect I will be wayyy too challenged by it!

    Thanks for linking!

    It is sure turning into a delicious pot of soup!

    A+

    Reply

Leave a Reply

