The Gallery, Alphabet Thursday & Kindness Club – Zoom up close & Military

Hi, my 2 or even 3 for 1 Saturdays are beginning to be a bit of a regular thing! If you don’t like, it let me know, I can always split the post.. but to be honest I don’t want to overload your inboxes or google reader. So 3 for 1 it is (again). First up The Gallery & Alphabet Thursday (as always) and second my newly found Kindness Club at www.NewDayNewLesson.com. Not sure why it took me so log to find. But there you go.

The Gallery & Alphabet Thursday

Don’t you love it when things “come together in an unexpected fashion? This week’s prompt at The Gallery is “Can you see what it is yet?” – a photo of something close up or an usual angle. Which for me is a perfect Z for Zoom up close on Alphabet Thursday! Hurray! So here is my photo: I picked what I believe is an every day item (I have a great photo of our garden table, but because you don’t “know” my garden table, that may not be a fair photo).

Do you know what it is yet?! (I don’t think it is too hard). Will reveal in my 3 for 1 next week!!!!

Previous Photo Posts:

Holidays –  Pip Squeak learns about Emotions – CreaturesMotherhood (Yacht) – Who needs the beach when you have a ball? (Up up and Away) – Still life: Life’s Lovely Laundry – Symbol of Friendship (Xenophile) – Self Portrait by Red Ted – (My) Men – Enchanted Woods (Violet Woods) – Portrait – 7 Sins – Pride – Joy – Spring – Ugly – These should be in a Tim Burton film – Outside my front door (Watering Can) – Me – Colour (Red Ted’s Bunny)

The Kindness Club – Military

Every Tuesday Susie gives a prompt having to do with kindness and we link up. Easy. Or so you think. This week’s challenge is a “military” theme. Odd you would say, no? But it is designed to thank all those in the military for the great work that they are doing. There have been many sacrifices and many families left behind without fathers, brothers or sons.

Although I rarely think of it, I guess our family does have a military history. My father in law was in the army until retirement and The Englishman spent 5 years of his early working life in the army. It forms who you are. It influences how you think. You see things others never will. You learn things about yourself that others never will. The army has been aspects you can criticise (I can go on a bandwagon about that one), but many good things – it teaches you about respect, about people, about self esteem, about leadership and to love your country.

So I took this photo of The Englishman’s toy soldiers (that I normally frown at, especially when he buys another set), they represent his and his father’s regiment – RGBW, which now no longer exist as it has been merged. An era has passed and all that remains are memories and memorabilia.

Remembered but never forgotten.

34 responses to this post.

  1. Guitar strings???

    Reply

  2. Rotary airer/washing line? Looks like mine! lol

    Reply

  3. Rotary washing line???

    Reply

  4. Posted by suburbanmummyuk on July 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    instrument strings?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sarah Walters on July 10, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Boiled egg slicer 😉

    lol!!

    Reply

  6. Very nice post. And is the lines a laundry line?

    Reply

  7. There’s a couple of fun kids books you should track down related to your first photo:
    Zoom by Istvan Banyai and the follow up – Re Zoom

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Oh yes, I saw someone review them on the Book Linky network… have earmarked them! Really would like them. Bought the Red Book that you reviewed recently. It is FABULOUS! Thank you Zoe. You are book-fab-tastic!

      Reply

  8. Looks like my washing line…

    Reply

  9. Hmmm gosh that is really difficult – I can only think of strings on a toy banjo or similar? Guessing I’m wrong though!

    Reply

  10. Hi! Just wanted to let you know that I have given you the Sunshine Award because I think that you have a great blog.

    http://www.mydeliciousambiguity.com/2010/07/new-awards-heaps-of-thanks.html

    Have a great day!
    -Jenn
    My Delicious Ambiguity

    Reply

  11. Posted by christinemosler on July 12, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Is it the washing line? x

    Reply

  12. Is it a mug or egg cup? Hmmm or washing line? Ok so I have had 3 guesses and they are prob all wrong!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Sue Harrison on July 13, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Washing lines

    Reply

  14. Rotary washing line?

    Reply

  15. Umm! Nope you’ve got me. I think they may be stuck on something so wouldn’t be strings!

    Reply

  16. Looking at the other comments, I feel like a fool for saying it but are they lines on a whiteboard?

    Reply

  17. Washing line?

    Reply

  18. Washing lines?

    Reply

  19. They look like washing line strings!

    Reply

  20. love the mini figures!!!!!! 😀
    is the other one a washing line tho??? 🙂

    Reply

  21. Some kind of muscial instrument?! 🙂

    Reply

  22. I love your choice of ‘zoom’ for the letter Z!

    Reply

  23. Posted by JDaniel4's Mom on July 15, 2010 at 11:28 am

    It looks the lines on third writing pages.

    Reply

  24. American clothes lines are usually made of rope, not plastic-coated. I’ve gotta go with the folks who seem to know and say clothes line.

    Reply

  25. Posted by soulintention: signed .............bkm on July 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Ditto on the egg slicer…bkm

    Reply

  26. I really have no idea but I’ll say the lines are decorations like on a tablecloth, dishcloth, pillowcase or something like that , ha, ha.

    Reply

  27. Some kind of wire or cable??

    Reply

  28. I don’t have any ideas..I’ll have to come back to find out!

    Reply

  29. I haven’t a clue. You would think the color green would be a good clue. Some kind of green thread lined up for weaving?

    Reply

  30. My guess is electric wires. Fun Z post!

    Reply

  31. Well, happy Z day 🙂
    Ooo a mystery.
    In my eye looks like the lines we leaned to print on in writing class.
    Do they still do that?
    LOL
    It has been 26 weeks of fun~and ending with a mystery is a neat way to close out…
    like a movie where the hand jumps through the screen, it isn’t REALLY over 🙂

    Love the military aspect of the post.
    Huuuah!

    hope you can visit my z when you have time 🙂
    http://adivashammer.com/?p=1662

    Reply

  32. What a fun stop on our little journey through Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “Z”.

    I have absolutely, totally no idea. The color is kind of throwing me off…it looks like that string you use on a weekwacker but I’m sure that’s not it.

    I’ll have to come back and see what it is.

    Thanks for making us think and thanks for linking up!

    A+

    Reply

Leave a comment