The Gallery – Outside my front door

Outside my front door

Outside my front door

My husband always tells me off for my 80-20 approach to life (80-20 rule – pareto’s law – yadiyadi yaaaa…). But here it goes again. Loving Tara Cains The Gallery, I rushed to see what this weeks topic was. Went off and took my pic. Then came back to double check. And guess what… in my 80-20 haste, I only read half her post… so didn’t get the post quite right (but got it done quickly). The topic is “Outside my front door”. This is a pic of my front door… (and not what is outside my house). But now I have done it, I want to stick with it, as it once again, tells you more about me/ us…. Our front garden gets ALL the sun, and, unconventional me, delights in using the urban front garden as a vegetable patch (where others grow hedges or flowers). Last year growing tomatoes, courgettes and lettuce in it! The photo also represents family life, as it shows my son’s watering can. I am also an inherently untidy person – the watering can (and other gardening equipment), does actually “live” outside my front door… my father is for ever coming round and trying to tidy up for me! Ha ha.

I am also linking this with Jenny Matlock W is for Watering Can!

I am also linking this up with “Where in the World Wednesday: Your Backyard” – I know this isn’t strictly speaking our backyard, however, with all the veg in it, I think it fits the bill!!

42 responses to this post.

  1. I love that photo! Its simple and yet arty all the same!

    Parents love to tidy dont they 😀

    Reply

  2. Oh that’s so cool! I like it. See Mr Red Ted Art? Sometimes 80:20 is not a bad thing. ;o)

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on March 27, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      heeheehee! Will let The Englishman know.. I totally agree, btw, 80:20 isn’t a bad thing at all!! Hence I live my life that way 😉 thanks for the “back up” xxx

      Reply

  3. That is one sparkly clean watering-can! I love the fact you grow veg in your urban garden – so unconventional…

    Reply

  4. Love this! I’m often guilty of Pareto too – I try to get 80% of my jobs done in 20% of my time!

    Reply

  5. Posted by caradonovan on March 31, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I love this, what a great interpretation (intentional or not).

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on March 31, 2010 at 10:23 am

      Thanks for all your lovely comments! Enjoyed taking this pic and can’t wait for the next gallery. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Posted by cherishedbyme on March 31, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Love it….and I nearly took a picture of my front door too but there was nothing as interesting or colourful near it as yours. :0)

    Reply

  7. What a lovely sweet photo! Very bright and cheerful, it made me smile.

    Reply

  8. Hey if 80:20 works… and it sure appears to 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by whatshappeningatmyhouse on March 31, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Interesting interpretation, and cute watering can. Maybe if I had such a colourful one, I’d be more inclined to do some gardening!

    Reply

  10. Lovely photo and lovely approach to life! I am a veg wherever it will fit woman too! Now, if it would just stop raining I could be inspired to go out and potter!

    Reply

  11. Posted by parklover on March 31, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Oo, I’ve considered using my front garden for veggies. I’ll have to stop my Dad sticking flowers in for me though, he has taken ownership of my front garden! My wellies live permanently outside my front door and quite often my muddy trainers too – weel I can’t see them when I’m in the house!

    Reply

  12. 80-20 is good! Love the photo!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on March 31, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      I highly recommend 80-20 – after all in the uk University system that is a first 😉 also recommend veggies in front garden – I have been complemented by all the neighbours!! and friends “find” my house that way 😉 xx

      Reply

  13. Love it!

    Reply

  14. I’m with you on the untidiness front – drives my mother completely nuts, but I think happy chaos is so much more creative and fun. Fantastic photo!

    Reply

  15. Great photo! I love the 80/20 rule it really does work x

    Reply

  16. I don’t see anything wrong with your variation on the topic!

    It’s very arty and I like it, and agree… it does speak to us and gives as an insight.

    Reply

  17. I love this pic. So simple….

    Reply

  18. Nice pic! Good idea to use the front garden to grow stuff!

    Reply

  19. I think it fits the bill, too! It’s a great photo of something right outside your door! I love the contrast between the brick and the little plastic watering can.

    Thanks for linking your post up to Where in the World!

    Reply

  20. Very nice picture! I think my kids play a lot more in the front yard than they do in the back yard. I’ve never understood why some people think you can only grow vegetables where nobody can see them.

    Reply

  21. Well posted a women after my own heart

    Reply

  22. Posted by JDaniel4's Mom on June 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

    The watering can looks like it has found the perfect place to hang out.

    Reply

  23. You’re a bona fide urban farmer! Cool pic!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 24, 2010 at 11:22 am

      Thank you – this year’s efforts looking a little poor though! Lots of strawberrie but not much else! *sigh*

      Reply

  24. It Works! No apologies necessary. Loved your post, btw.

    Reply

  25. i like the pic – smart to have it on the tap 😀

    Reply

  26. my front garden bed has veggies too….It gets all the good sun so that is where I put it…I think it has its own kind of prettiness….melinda

    Reply

  27. 80-20…that sums up my life pretty much! I am usually too impatient to read carefully…I skim everything from print material to conversations!! I love this picture. It tells me that you are a family that participates and people are more important than things or perceptions.

    Reply

  28. I’m the original poster child for ADD…I use caffeine to treat it, but sometimes I just can’t make it to the end…

    Reply

  29. I say whatever works front or back for a garden. As long as you can grow the veggies who cares LOL. What a great little wattering can.

    Reply

  30. Welcome to Alphabe-Thursday!

    And what a cute link! I had to laugh at your husbands attitude…must be a guy thing for sure!

    The watering can looks adorable there….

    And, hey, since it does, maybe you’re Dad would have time to come over here and tidy up!

    A+

    Reply

  31. What a unique take on the letter W!

    Reply

  32. A good take on that theme :o) …I like the little watering can…a perfect spot for it…very convenient 😮

    Blessings & Aloha!

    Reply

  33. My front is in the shade most of the day – I love that you use yours for a real garden – I bet it looks yummy when everything is ripe. The picture is great – we have a very similar watering can!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

