The Gallery – Ugly – This should be in a Tim Burton Film

Ugly

I love Tara Cain’s Weekly The Gallery. Each week we she posts a new topic on her site and encourages submissions. This week’s theme is “Ugly”. Rather a tricky one we all say. I thought about finding a slug. But couldn’t find one. Then I thought of an unfavourable family photo, but that wouldn’t have been very kind. Then I thought of a “Full Potty”, but that is just yukky. And then I remembered/ saw these: these are supposed to be trees on our road! The council just hacked them into stumpy amputated left overs of something that used to be a tree. They should be in a Tim Burton film… not our road. I hate them. I think they are ugly ugly ugly!! Each summer they struggle to grow some leaves and in winter they just make everything more miserable! I took photos at dawn and sunset – and nature does an amazing thing: it transform them into magical structures that you would find in an enchanted forrest – don’t you agree!?

PS With a gnarled old tree, nature was at work… hence there is something inherently beautiful. These are man made… hence the “ugliness”.

Ugly Tree 1

Ugly Tree 2

Ugly Tree 3

 

I am also linking this up with “Where in World” at Lemon Drop Pie, where this weeks theme is “National Parks” – now, we havent been anywhere recently, but I reckon “Trees” sort of fit with “Park” 😉
25 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dieuwke Swain on April 4, 2010 at 11:21 am

    There’s something beautiful about the photo Ugly Tree 1, even though the tree itself is ugly. Intriguing!

    Ugly Tree 3’s a really good photo too. Reminds me of Anton Corbijn’s style (he did U2’s Joshua Tree photography & video – by the way, I like his photography, but I don’t like the band – just want to make that very clear…!).

    Reply

  2. That is one ugly tree. I like gnarly trees – but that is beyond that…

    Reply

  3. Those trees are great – very interesting 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Luschka on April 4, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    I like ugly tree number 1. I think I posted something quite similar recently. Or I took it but didn’t post it. Don’t remember now. Lovely pic, anyway.!

    Reply

  5. Posted by greenmum2 on April 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    hmm, now they look familiar ;>)
    Ah, those poor ‘Pollarded’ trees – now that’s a word you German speakers don’t hear very often?

    lots of love x

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on April 6, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      Clever word… never heard it before … but now I have looked it up, I think the council failed miserably…

      Reply

  6. I think your pics are great & they bear out what I said in my entry fo ‘Ugly’ this week. That is that beuaty & ugliness are truly in the eye of the beholder. I think your trees are quite lovely!

    Reply

  7. They are shocking when you know that a man did this to them… well maybe a woman but you know what I mean!

    Reply

  8. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by redtedart: @The_Moiderer this is mine http://bit.ly/9OV6Ce love ur 1st 2 photos! They are fab (not that the others arent!)…

    Reply

  9. Great photos x

    Reply

  10. Posted by whatshappeningatmyhouse on April 7, 2010 at 7:50 am

    As trees go, they are definitely ugly ones! Lovely blue sky in the background, though!

    Reply

  11. Posted by parklover on April 7, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Poor mutilated tree! My neighbour recently had the beautiful tree in his garden hacked back and I wanted to cry. He’s done it before and it does grow back but takes ages.

    Reply

  12. It’s sad when the trees look like that & then suddenly they look all normal again

    Reply

  13. The tree is so ugly it’s beautiful, good photo!

    Reply

  14. Oh – poor trees. They are quite ugly, aren’t they? That second one gives me the shivers…

    Reply

  15. We have a huge weeping willow in our town that regularly gets massacred by the council. It does come back well each year. Not sure these trees will – they look very strange.
    Great post and pics x

    Reply

  16. Great photos! I think number 3 looks more like something you would see down the lens of a microscope…

    Reply

  17. Yes, these trees are awful! What’s the point? Would’ve been better just to have completely chopped them down rather than leave them like THIS?

    Reply

  18. How awful. I would love to live in a tree lined road, but not these ugly ones. Why on earth did they chop them like that??

    Reply

  19. Ooooof they are ugly!

    Reply

  20. They look like the trees on our street – the name escapes me at the moment. Agree they are ugly – in the winter just stumps, and in the summer green but with horrible, sticky, sap stuff. Yuck

    Reply

  21. Aww those trees are kinda cute in a cute but ugly way!

    Reply

  22. I think those trees are beautiful – I like the knobblyness of them!

    Reply

  23. I agree with you…those trees ARE ugly trees! They certainly would fit in a Tim Burton film, and they look very different from any of the trees we have in my town!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

