The Gallery – Motherhood

This post originally started out for a Guest Post at The Madhouse, but I think it really works for the below, as well as for “Alphabet Thursday”: Y is Yacht. Well sort of, maybe it is just a boat!

Jenny Matlock Y is for Yacht

The Gallery is officially back (Tara Cain is back from hols) and this week’s topic is “Motherhood”. I thought of the piles of washing. I thought of the piles of dishes. I thought of the heavy shopping bags. I thought of sleepless nights. I thought of my gorgeous little girl’s smile. I thought of my adorable little boy’s eyes when they light up.

I thought of this photo.

I think motherhood is very personal and different to each mother. We all experience it differently and there are many stages. I am in the wonderyears of Motherhood.

What this photo means to me as a mother:

This egg carton box would never have come into my life, if it wasn’t for my children. It shows toys we would never have. It shows an egg carton I wouldn’t “own” (I bought a dozen eggs just so I could have the box). It represents some of the quality time I spend with Red Ted. It represents fun and good times. It also represents nurturing my children. Teaching them to have a go. To give things a try. It teaches (both of us) to recycle around the home. To make the most of what we have and to see beauty in things that are ordinary. It teaches us to make up stories. It teaches us to take care (with Pip Squeak, the baby, who musn’t play with the chopsticks masts). It teaches us, that the world is your oyster, and your imagination is the limit.

For me Motherhood is also about creating childhood memories that they will (hopefully) cherish as adults or when they become parents themselves… I hope very much to succeed on this level! Fingers crossed.

What this photo also shows, is that Motherhood has given my creativity a new outlet. So not only my children benefit, but I do too. For me Motherhood is Win Win!

Previous Gallery Posts:

Who needs the beach when you have a ball?

Still life: Life’s Lovely Laundry

Symbol of Friendship

Self Portrait by Red Ted

(My) Men

Enchanted Woods

Portrait

7 Sins – Pride

Joy – Spring

Ugly – These should be in a Tim Burton film

Outside my front door

Me

Colour (Red Ted’s Bunny)

68 responses to this post.

  1. fabulous photo and explanation.

    Reply

  2. That photo is really great and so sweet. Like how you see and explained Motherhood. xo

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 12, 2010 at 7:23 am

      Thank you! Will definitely associate time with “my little ones” with this photo! 😉

      Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm

      It is funny – the photo came first (I took it 2-3 weeks ago for a post) and it just seemed fittin! The explaination came all by itself!

      Reply

  3. Posted by christinemosler on June 12, 2010 at 8:06 am

    That’s lovely! It’s the bit about being a Mum that gives me enormous satisfaction. You can get bogged down in washing, cleaning etc and forget to live. Making a mess without a care and encouraging creativity satisfies my soul. Well done, great post! (You are always so quick off the mark!)

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 12, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      Ah! Thanks for lovely comment 🙂 but it is a nice part of motherhood, no?! Quick off the mark.. as Fridays I have the most time 😉 xx

      Reply

  4. Love this post – the photo is beautiful!!!

    Reply

  5. Beautiful picture and post, it is so hard to make motherhood visual isn’t it..

    Reply

  6. Great photo, and great egg box boat! That Red Ted is a talented chap (with a talented mum too!)

    Reply

  7. I’m struggling with this one, I must admit – this morning the pile of washing was winning… Love your take on it; a little bit different, and personal.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 14, 2010 at 4:55 pm

      Thanks for lovely comment! 😉 Def a tricky one – so many aspects – which to choose!?

      Reply

  8. Posted by Jenny paulin @ mummy mishaps on June 15, 2010 at 7:25 am

    That’s a lovely post and a great use for egg cartons-what fun!!

    Reply

  9. Fabulous take on the prompt, mine is much more, erm shall we say “gritty” ! Your inspirations are wonderful – loving your take on the prompt and the egg boxes! Cx

    Reply

  10. What a fab, inspiring photo – thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      Thank you! Took it for a guest craft post over at The Madhouse, but am pleased it had a “use” here too….

      Reply

  11. Ooh I wish i’d done boats like this when my son was younger. Do you think he might still enjoy me getting the egg boxes out? He’s 14. Worth a try 😉

    Reply

  12. Lovely take on the theme! It is memories isn’t it. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  13. This is great 🙂
    Can’t wait til Dylan’s old enough for making and sticking and all that good stuff 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 16, 2010 at 9:16 am

      OOOh! How old is he? Never underestimate what they can already do/ what they will enjoy! I do “help” a lot, but Red Ted is chuffed to bits that it had a go!! (He is 2.5yrs). x

      Reply

  14. Posted by parklover on June 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I love this post. I also hope that I can give my daughter happy memories to take into adulthood. I’ve also found that having my daughter has made me rediscover my creative side. Beautifully put!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 16, 2010 at 9:13 am

      Aaah, aren’t they lovely – I do think we get just as much out of them as they do from us! 🙂

      Reply

  15. Oh fantastic! You have just inspired me to ‘give in’ when the kids raid the recycling bin next time.

    Love it.

    LCM x

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 16, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Oh the recycling bin is the BEST CRAFT resource… you must 😉 (then when it comes to throwing away “artwork” that has been sufficicently played with, you won’t feel bad either!) x

      Reply

  16. This is brilliant and so original. I love it and it sums up Motherhood perfectly 🙂

    Reply

  17. It’s so cool that you used this picture – it’s obvious how important your creativity, and sharing it with your kids is to you. Bet they love every second. x

    Reply

  18. Oooooo, I love this pic. I can’t wait till we get to the crafting together stage!

    Reply

  19. Beautifully inspired and inspiring description and image!

    Reply

  20. I love it! x

    Reply

  21. mummy crafting is so much fun fab idea and lovely photo

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 16, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      Love it when Red Ted gets really stuck in!! Though nothing quite beats mummy hood like a nice big cuddle!

      Reply

  22. The boats are brilliant and I know exactly what you mean….I have done so many things that I would never have done if I hadn’t had children. :0)

    Reply

  23. What a brilliant take on the post – I love your boat 😉

    Reply

  24. They are great boats, I must try my hand at it. Great photo and great inspiration 🙂

    Reply

  25. What great boats! I want you as my mum 🙂

    Reply

  26. I love the boats! Very cool…I always loved the crafty bits with all my kids.

    Reply

  27. This is great I cant wait to do craft things with Baba xx

    Reply

  28. You are just incredible, all the creative activities you do with you little one, I don’t have the patience and hate the mess;(

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      We all bring different things to motherhood – I bet you are really good at something else 😉 xxx

      Reply

  29. What a lovely twist on this weeks theme. A great photo and I love the line about creating childhood memories that they will cherish.

    Reply

  30. Hi,
    Sian – MummyTips / CyberMummy Here…… I’ve just posted with the info you need in order to get your pic printed for the real life CyberMummy Gallery exhibition courtesy of Photobox.
    http://www.mummy-tips.com/2010/06/cybermummy-gallery-get-your-pics-in.html

    Reply

  31. It’s amazing what motherhood brings into our lives – and the way in which it makes us look at the world around us differently – you bought eggs, I saved the cup and spoon from my icecream on the beach – it made a great mini bucket and spade!

    Lovely post.

    Reply

  32. This one’s for me and my little ones today, just got to go and buy 6 more eggs. Thanks for the inspiration. We were going to do treasure maps with aged paper (aka cooked in the oven to brown and burn the edges). These boats are the perfect accompaniment.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 6, 2010 at 10:54 am

      Ooh a treasure hunt! That sounds fabulous! Mine still too little… but one day soon 🙂 glad you like the boats! x

      Reply

  33. Posted by JDaniel4's Mom on July 8, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I need to have a yacht race at my house with my son. I have the egg cartons.

    Reply

  34. what a great craft and symbol for your motherhood 😀

    Reply

  35. Posted by Riet on July 8, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    What a super lovely yaght post. I love it.

    Reply

  36. Posted by soulintention: signed .............bkm on July 9, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Wow great Yachts…..it reminds me of a poem about mother’s and sailing I just posted on my children’s site… you may like it …it is called Do You Hear the Wind…

    http://thebearythoughtofit.blogspot.com

    Great Y post…have a happY Y daY….bkm

    Reply

  37. my daughter saves every egg carton every kleenex box toilet paper roll etc. she makes some pretty fun stuff but these yachts take the cake! I will have to show her!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 9, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      Oh what a lovely thing to say… 🙂 thank you, sounds like your daughter is very creative!!!

      Reply

  38. I really love this post – tells so much about how you mother and what motherhood is to you. thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  39. How adorable. I need to make this with my boys. Great Y post.

    Reply

  40. What an adorable stop on our little journey through Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “Y”!

    This was such a perfect post!

    And I’m really excited to try this idea with our littlest grand.

    Thank you for linking up!

    Thank you for making us smile!

    Yippee!

    A+

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 11, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      🙂 thank you Jenny, always feel very honoured when you leave me such lovely messages!! Hope you have fun making your boat!!!! x

      Reply

Leave a comment