Book & Cook – Duckie’s Rainbow & Rainbow Cookies

It is RAINBOW time in our house. Red Ted has shown an interest in colours for a while. He has a tendency to call EVERYTHING blue, but I do believe (!) he knows his colours. Or at least is starting to. A few weeks back I saw these awesome Rainbow Cookies over at Views from my Window. I knew we would be making some very soon.

I have some amazing natural (!) food dies from the states (look here for more info): they come in basic colours, red, blue and yellow, so basic colour chart theory comes into play. But I am ahead of myself. First the story.

It is rainbow week here at Red Ted Art. And the book we chose to keep for today, was Duckie’s Rainbow. 

Duckie's Rainbow Duckie’s Rainbow, by Frances Barry. We were already predetermined to like Duckie’s Rainbow: we order one book and 3 arrived + some flashcards (yes, yes evil flashcards, but Red Ted adored them). The publishers must of sent us a promotional pack! Yipee for us! So, Are they any good? We have to say yes. Duckie is hurrying home to avoid the coming rain, he passes through red poppy fields, orange bridges and yellow cornfields. Simply illustrated, with simple text. Great for reading allowed (even Pip Squeak was enthralled). The rainbow takes shape (i.e. the book is rainbow shaped!). We like. The two “free” books are lovely too. Duckie’s Splash and Duckie’s Wish. Both with the same simple illustrations and text. Both picking on an educational them (the first on opposites, the second that everyone has something that makes them special). We like indeed. Definitely for the younger age range though – judging by my children 6mths – 3.5yrs?

We actually made the cookies on the spur of the moment and decided to eat them whilst reading the book. As I used the same recipe as in the last cookie baking session (sorry), I borrowed the ingredients photo.

1) Materials: 300g flour, 200g butter, 100g sugar, vanilla essence,  food dies, red, yellow, blue.

2) Mix ingredients, devide into 6 balls

3) Mix food colurs – yellow, red, blue. and then yellow & red for orange, red & blue for purple and blue & yellow for green. Older children will enjoy learning about how colours come together! The wonderful about these natural food dies, is that your hands don’t get stained a horrible colour. Also when your baby is “accidently fed” some by the toddler, it isn’t tragic. If you can’t find any,  then maybe place dough in freezer bags and mix colours by “bashing/kneading the dough in the bags”. Red Ted had a good go at mixing, but mummy had to finish it off!

4) Cool in fridge for approx 1hr

5) Roll out and stack. Squish stack to make it longer and slice with knife.

6) Place on tray (Red Ted LOVED this step for some reason). Bake at 180 til cooked.

7) Eat & Read. Offer to Opapa, Granny and neighbours!

I hope you will make some and enjoy them too!!!

Previous Craft Posts:

stART – Story Telling, Bunnies & Stars

stART: Giraffe’s can’t dance – a Giraffe Loo Roll Marionette

stART: Chick – a Pop Up Card

Book & Cook: Alphabet Cookies – Learning through play

stART: Busy Airport – Cotton Wool Clouds and, erm, PIGS!

stART: Hit &Myth – a mix & match book for older children (>5yrs)    

stART: Story & Thank you time – inspirational thank you cards   

stART: Hurray for Fish – one for babies or messy toddlers!    

stART: Bedtime Star – Red Ted, makes a starry night for Pip Squeak’s nursery   

stART: The Way Back Home, Oliver Jeffers – Red Ted makes a plane and a UFO   

Craft: Peg animals – toddlers can help!

Rainbow Cookies were featured on

56 responses to this post.

  1. What fantastic rainbow cookies!! Neat idea!

    Reply

  2. They look brilliant, will have to see if I can source some over here

    Reply

  3. These look fantastic! We LOVE rainbows and will definitely give this a try. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Mari-Ann
    Counting Coconuts

    Reply

  4. Wow, those look awesome!

    Reply

  5. Your cookies are amazing!

    Reply

  6. Posted by amylane on June 9, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    My daughters love Duckie’s rainbow, I’ll have to show them these cookies and have a go at making some 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 9, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      Oh yes, do show them the cookies and MOST DEFINITELY make some! Isn’t Duckie’s Rainbow just the most gorgeous book? Red Ted LOVES the word “Indigo” – his favourite bit about the whole book!

      Reply

  7. Very fun cookies!

    Reply

  8. These look delicious! And definitely what we need to cheer ourselves up with given all the rain we’ve been having!

    Reply

  9. What a yummy project! They look really good:)

    Reply

  10. It must be developmental. My almost-two-year-old likes to call everything “orange”, but she will often get red and blue and even green correct if she’s in the right mood. Cookies look delish!

    Reply

  11. What a colorful idea!

    Reply

  12. Love seeing the British spelling! Where are you from?? We are currently living in Scotland.

    Emily/Miss Mommy (from TILT)

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Hello Hello! We are in London! But am originally Austrian.. so, erm, the spelling may just be typos… then again it could be the British spelling depending on what you are referring to!

      Reply

  13. Posted by Amy @ Hope Is the Word on June 10, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I will definitely have to look up this book for my newest little one. It looks fantastic! And I love the cookies, too. Great activity!

    Reply

  14. I love how the book is shaped like a rainbow. Your treat looks so yummy and colorful. We will thave to try making some this summer. Going to have to look into those natural food dies.

    Reply

  15. Posted by JDaniel4's Mom on June 11, 2010 at 1:34 am

    The cookies are so cool! They remind of a type of crayon I used when I was little.

    Reply

  16. We love that book! What a great idea with the cookies! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm

      The more we read the book, the more we love it! Red Ted’s favourite word from it is “Indigo”… Books really do broaden vocabularly!!!

      Reply

  17. Those cookies look like they would be fun to make. We might have to give those a whirl!

    Reply

  18. Oh those cookies are amazing. I want to try them. I know my little one would love them. Thanks again for add this to the Round Robin…

    Have a great day and weekend..

    Reply

  19. They turned out so pretty.

    Reply

  20. What a grand idea.
    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  21. How fun! I need to find some of these natural food dyes…. I’d feel much better about using them! What a special treat to share together.

    Reply

  22. creative, fun, yummy, and educational!
    lovely round robin post!
    Smiles!
    😉

    Reply

  23. I am not brave yet to try baking with my toddler, but love seeing pictures of your family baking. The colorful cookies are so wonderful, very creative.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm

      Oh you simply must give it ago, your toddler will love it! Even if he just gets to stir!

      Reply

  24. Those cookies are just adorable. I love all of the colors!

    XOXO
    jen

    Reply

  25. Saving this recipe, it’s a great new addition to our Christmas baking, thanks!

    Reply

  26. I have GOT to try those rainbow cookies! How FUN!

    Reply

  27. How fun are these!!!! Thanks for linking up this idea with Sweet Charli! Come back again! 🙂

    Reply

  28. I love these! What a fantastic idea!

    Reply

  29. These are amazing but do I have the patience? nope:) Good Job!

    Reply

  30. How cute! The book and the cookies are adorable! Thanks for sharing your post on my Book Sharing Monday.

    Reply

  31. I love the cookies – they look so yummy. What a great extension of a color book!

    Reply

  32. They look so fun to make!

    Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  33. Thanks for helping us have a great Tuesday at Anything Related! ~Bridgette

    Reply

  34. This is a fabulous idea! Love how the cookie look and how they go along with the story! Super cute! Love the natural dyes – they are all we use here! Thanks so much for joining the Sunday Showcase! I greatly appreciate it! Hope you have a wonderful week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

    Reply

  35. These look awesome. So delicious!

    I am hosting a giveaway and I’d love it if you stopped by!

    Laura @ along for the ride

    Reply

  36. Would love it if you would join me for my 2nd linky party tonight!!

    http://lifeinmypjs.blogspot.com/2010/06/pajama-party-2.html

    ~Ela

    Reply

  37. You’ve got a great blog here and I absolutely LOVE this idea. I hope you’ll come link it up to My Tot Tuesdays Linky party:

    http://www.mydeliciousambiguity.com/

    Reply

  38. They look delicious1 Thanks for linking up!

    Reply

  39. Thanks for linking up to Tot Tuesdays! I’ll be featuring you this week so feel free to stop by and grab a Featured Button. Have a great week!

    Reply

  40. Do you think that any sugar cookie recipe will work? I am havng a hard time wrapping my mind aroudn the grams to cups conversion . . .

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 22, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      😉 yes I am sure they will! As you say, this is “standard” sugar cookie recipe that “works for us”! But am sure any will work… Have fun! x

      Reply

  41. We love Duckie’s Rainbow and your cookies are so cute! My kids would love this little cooking activity! Thanks for linking up!

    Reply

  42. Hi! I found your blog off of Today’s Creative Blog! I love your craft! This looks like so much fun! I just signed up to be your newest follower! Woo hoo! I hope you stop by my new blog. I just started it 2 months ago and would love new friends! Please come see me at http://www.modernfamilymagazine.com

    -Heather-

    Reply

Leave a comment