How to.. make a No Sew new Tee out of an old favourite Tee! (Guest Post)

 

The lovely Helen from Ickle Babe makes a range GORGEOUS gifts, from baby quilts, to bunting, to Aprons and New Home gifts. You simply have to pop over and check it out! I knew that ANY Guest Post from her would be a winner and a winner it is! Ever had your child grow out of a favourite t-shirt that tearfully had to be packed away? Look no further, re-use key features and make a new one. Not only is it clever, cut and fun, it is NO SEW! Hurray!

Recycled Tee Project!

This make was inspired by the lovely Milly, at a year and a half her most favourite thing in the world is her Lola tee. She Loves “yoya” (lola) as she calls her , and wears this top constantly, patting her belly as she runs about, as if Lola is actually playing with her. Its very cute! But unfortunately, we all knew the day would come… it’s getting to small.

So I have decided to re-cycle it, it was super easy and Milly LOVES it, maybe even more now that she did before. I figure I can just keep doing this until “yoya” falls apart or when Milly gets bored of her and wants a boyfriend instead ;P So here goes…..

You will need…

  • A sharp pair of scissors Pinking shears (optional)
  • An old t-shirt
  • A plain new t-shirt
  • A sheet of BondaWeb (like big sheets of wonderweb, John Lewis or Ebay always has it )

1) First roughly cut around the pieces you want to feature . I used two old jumpers for this. One had Lola on it and as she looked like she was running away on the pic I cut a little bee and some flowers out of the other one to create a little scene. Find a background piece, this can be new fabric like mine or another recycled piece, you could even use the back of the old tee, as long as its in a co-ordinating colour from the new tee your putting it on to.

2) Using a hot iron, fuse the bondaweb to the pieces. All you have to remember here is to place the rough side on the wrong side of your fabric and iron for 4-5 secs using dry heat. Use the wrong side and you just end up with sticky bondaweb on your ironing board!

3) Cut around them carefully, I used pinking shears for an extra bit of texture, but you don’t have to if you don’t have any, normal scissors are fine.

4) Peel the back off the bonda webbing and arrange your “collage” on your new tee. Place a damp tea towel (make sure its a plain one, I did this with a red one once and dyed the t-shirt pink) over the piece and iron down. I find it easier to just put the iron on sections and leave for about ten seconds at a time and then move to the next. As if you just sweep your iron around you can disturb your pieces underneath.

5) Remove the wet tea towel, Give it a final good iron and leave fused pars flat to cool for about 20mins.

And there you have your new fully washable original *designer* tee!

 You could customise it further with buttons (I have some cherry red vintage ones to add to Milly’s) or ribbons. Very easy but very fun, you can let your imagination go wild. I have even saved some of the other jumper for customizing some jeans too, the possibilities are endless!

I think Helen came up with a fabulous way of recycling AND keeping little people happy! Fabulous!

Previous How Tos:

Super Cute Flannel Cupcake (Guest Post)

 

Tactile Felt Donuts

Delicious No Sew Lavender Bags

Make Scented Playdough

From T to Halterneck (Guest Post)

Easy & effective Fish Pinata

Simple but effective paper frames (vlog) 

– How to make a Flower Pom Pom (guest post) – simply gorgeous – use as wedding decor! 

How to make a Paper Envelope  

How to make a No Sew Bib (out of an old shirt)  

How to make a Fabric Mâché Bowl (from old scraps of fabric!)  

How to make a Paper Flower (from newspapers)  (guest post)  

32 responses to this post.

  1. Ohhhhhhhh it’s so beautiful, I love it! 🙂

    Kisses from Ireland :*
    meni

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 13, 2010 at 11:26 am

      Oh! Glad you like! Definitely one for our growing children!! Hope you are settling into Ireland!!!!! Must be so different to sunny Spain!

      Reply

  2. Brilliant idea! I shall have to get hold of some bondaweb!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 13, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Yes, when I saw Helen’s guest post in my inbox, I went straight to ebay and bought some BondaWeb, loving No Sew projects as I do!!!

      Reply

  3. That is brilliant! I bet that can save some money in the end since plain t-shirts are cheaper.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Amy on August 13, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    how cool is this. Then you do not have to out grow your favorite shirt..

    Reply

  5. Posted by whatdidyoudotodaymama on August 13, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    What a fab idea and your t-shirt looks fantastic.

    Reply

  6. great!
    😉

    Reply

  7. What a great idea. I’ve been thinking of trying something like this for a tshirt of my own! I am going to go for it now!

    Reply

  8. Very cute idea and simple!

    Reply

  9. What a great and easy thing to do! Looks fab 🙂

    Reply

  10. Hello…

    Ohhh…I love Helen’s idea of saving that favorite T-shirt! I think it turned out darling and I can just imagine the smile on that little one’s face as she saw her favorite pal! Love, love, LOVE this great idea! Thank you so much for sharing it with us today for Sunday Favorites!

    Have a super Sunday!
    Chari @Happy To Design

    Reply

  11. Fabulous idea!!!! Such a great way to recycle the T-shirt they love.

    Found you at the Girl Creative…

    Reply

  12. What a cute idea, so simple and a great way to keep a little one happy.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Alessandra on August 16, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Ingenious idea, and fabulous result.

    Reply

  14. I LOVE this! I may even remodel some of my own tees using this method, and for sure this is going on the list of things to do for the grandkids. Thanks for a great tute!

    Reply

  15. very cute and clever idea! Love. Thanks for linking up to “AP Tuesdays” @ New Nostalgia!

    Reply

  16. Posted by skoots1mom on August 17, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    brilliant…love it…LOVE IT! i’ll so be doing this with dd’s old high school t’s … if i get the colors creatively combined i bet she’ll wear them at college…

    my 1st time @ Amy’s meme
    enjoyed!

    Reply

  17. What a great idea! So original. Even I could do that……..I think.
    Please don’t forget to add my link stating you’ve linked to Get Your Craft On.

    Reply

  18. Oh I absolutely *love* this! Soooooo cute! x

    Reply

  19. That is so cute, and a clever idea. 🙂

    Reply

  20. That is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO cute! Thanks so much for linking this up with gettin’ crafty on hump day! 🙂

    Reply

  21. Great idea for a shirt that the little people still want to wear. Thanks for linking this, for one day I know this will happen and Laci will be crying until I find a solution!

    Reply

  22. Aw I am *so* thrilled everyone liked this make, can’t wait for Red Ted to ask me again ;D xxxxx

    Reply

  23. thanks for introducing me to a really great idea!

    Reply

  24. This is such a GREAT idea!! I am been stressing about what I am going to do when my daughter Mia grows out of her favorite pirate girl shirt!!

    Reply

Leave a comment