How to Make a Cupcake from a Flannel (Washcloth)

 This was featured on UndertheTableandDreaming Lovely! As well on  Hurray!

Remember the gorgeous Guest Post that the wonderful Anjie from Pom Pom Emporium did for us a little while back – well if you don’t, simply head back in time and take a look at these beautiful Pom Pom Flowers.

Anyway, she is BACK and with yet another fabulous idea – these Flannel Cupcakes! How simple and yet how gorgeous are they!? Perfect baby shower gifts or stocking fillers or a “just like that” present. Inexpensive, fun, FABULOUS! Here we go:

cupcakes made from washcloths/facecloths/flannels

To get started you will need

  1. washcloth 
  2. Paper cup 
  3. Rubber band 
  4. Lollipop 

For the cupcake wrapper I cut a paper cup down to the required size. I estimated my paper cup should stand about 5cm (2″) tall. Resting a pencil on a box, of the desired hight and with it touching the cup, I turned my cup slowly to give me a perfect line. I cut the excess paper away. Alternatively you can find printable cupcake wrappers on the internet to download, but I decided my idea using paper cups was easier and held the washcloth really well.

To form the ‘cake’ from the washcloth just follow the photographic tutorial below or watch this very good demonstration video I came across by Jonathan Fong How to make a cupcake from a washcloth What a star!

I think these cupcakes would make a really nice ‘thank you’ gift for a teacher or alternatively a very easy project for a class to make. You could buy white paper cups and let children design and colour their own cupcake wrappers

paper cups, washcloths, rubber bands and lollipops

Resting a pencil on a box, of the desired hight and with it touching the cup, I turned my cup slowly to give me a perfect line.cut the excess paper away

Folding the washcloth to make the 'cake'  

Folding the washcloth to make the 'cake'

Rolling the washcloth to make the 'cake'

Rolling the washcloth to make the 'cake', put the rubber band in place to hold it together

Squeeze the base of the 'cake' to push out the centre to form the icing swirlPut a lollipop in the centre of the swirl to form the cherryFinished cupcake!

Gorgeous! Please do go and visit Anjie and check out all her other wonderful things!

Previous How Tos:

Tactile Felt Donuts

Delicious No Sew Lavender Bags

Make Scented Playdough

From T to Halterneck (Guest Post)

Easy & effective Fish Pinata

Simple but effective paper frames (vlog) 

– How to make a Flower Pom Pom (guest post) – simply gorgeous – use as wedding decor! 

How to make a Paper Envelope  

How to make a No Sew Bib (out of an old shirt)  

How to make a Fabric Mâché Bowl (from old scraps of fabric!)  

How to make a Paper Flower (from newspapers)  (guest post)  

30 responses to this post.

  1. They look great. Would make ideal stocking fillers. Just need to remember it now!

    Reply

  2. Such simple ideas but how fabulous! Almost wish I was pregnant! *slaps forehead*

    Reply

  3. Posted by christinemosler on August 6, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Brilliant! *pops idea straight into Christmas idedas bank*

    Reply

  4. Posted by christinemosler on August 6, 2010 at 9:50 am

    ‘ideas’ obviously ‘idedas’ is just silly…see even the son of god is fallible!

    Reply

  5. That is so cute. My grandchildren would love that. Thanks for sharing. ~~Sherry~~

    Reply

  6. […] original post here: How to Make a Cupcake from a Flannel (Washcloth) « Redtedart's Blog Posted by admin on August 6th, 2010 Tags: cupcakes, cupcakes, fabulous, fabulous-idea, […]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Amy on August 6, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Those are amazing and look easy to make. Thanks for linking up today..

    Reply

  8. Posted by Amy on August 6, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I was thinking I could use this for my little one’s Birthday Party in Oct.. Thanks..

    Reply

  9. That is adorable!

    Reply

  10. Adorable! Quick and easy too!

    Reply

  11. very cute love the idea

    Reply

  12. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party this week!

    Reply

  13. Hi Margarita! This is such an adorable idea – how cute! I am featuring this today; stop by and grab a featured button if you like. Thanks so much for joining the Sunday Showcase Party. I greatly appreciate it. Hope you have a fabulous week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

    Reply

  14. Cute. These could make great recycled art if you used scrap fabric or older washclithes that you just don’t see yourself using! Thanks for linking up at Upcycled Awesome. http://tinyurl.com/Upcycled9

    Reply

  15. That looks so pretty, and suitable for even a craft klutz like me! Thanks.

    Reply

  16. adorable!! So creative. I feel like I should be able to come up with such cleaver ideas!!

    I am already thinking of 10 different ways I could use something like this…thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  17. just bookmarked you ace!!

    Reply

  18. How cute and fun. There were some lollipop soaps posted on my linky party–how fun would the two of these be together?

    Reply

  19. What a fun idea! I totally see this as a gift for sure! Maybe a soap ball instead to go with the hand wash theme.
    Great idea!!

    Reply

  20. I have to tell you that from time to time the hubby checks my blog. It is infrequent and I think it’s cute when he comments about something. He LOVED this as do I… You will definatly be a feature today! Thank you as always for linking to It’s Stinkin’ Cute Craft Thursday!

    Reply

Leave a comment