How to.. make felt donuts! More felt food!

 

I am on a mission to make a whole grocery bag full of Felt Food for Pip Squeak’s 1st Birthday – so far I have one Gingerbread Man, 8 gorgeous Strawberries and 3 donuts (or doughnuts, depending from which side of the pond you are visiting)! I am yet to make some Cream!!! Here I will show you How To Make Felt Donuts – 2 with sprinkles and 1 with icing.

The basic donut is always the same, the only thing that differs, is the decor! I am also pretty certain you can follow my steps below and use a sewing machine, I chose to hand sew!

Here we go:

Materials: 2 circles of donut colour (cream or brown), 1 circle of icing (blue, pink, brown), thread to match circles of felt, beads or embroidery thread for sprinkles, extra thin strips of felt for icing donut, stuffing (I used plastic shopping bags), stencil of sort – cut out of card, or I used a lid slightly smaller than a CD and the thread bobbin

Step 1) Cut out three circles the same size. Cut out three holes in the centre. I used once a tupperware lid for the circle and a thread bobbin for the centre. Make sure centres are aligned. You may find it easier to make a card stencil first to make sure they all match perfectly

Step 2) Fold single colour (i.e. icing) into a quarter and cut a wiggle line. Open, trim a little if needed, but don’t cut away too much.

Step 3) For sprinkles sew on beads/ “nuts” first,then attach the icing onto one of the donut pieces (cream felt) with a running stitch. For the Choc& Nuts: Do French Knots – shown how to here. I LOVE the French Knot Donut the most as it is VERY tactile and safe for my one year old (better than the beads, which are dangerous, she will not be allowed it at first). For the swirly icing, I found it easier to sew on the pink first and then add the swhirly bit: A very thing strip of felt sew on with a running stitch. The felt may break, so be very gentle.

Step 4) Put the wrong sides together. I found it helpful to use pins to hold the central hole into place – avoiding any skewing/ misalignment. Sew all around the edge, leaving a 1-2inch gap

Step 5) Turn inside out

Step 6) Sew centre, I used a blanket stitch, but I am sure any stitch will do

Step 7) Stuff

Step 8- Sew gap shut. Again, I used a blanket stitch

Like I said, my favourite is the “Choc & Nut” Donut, as the French Knots are very tactile and safe for 1yrs olds!

Enjoy playing!

I am linking this to Visit thecsiproject.com 

I was featured! Simpsonized Crafts and

Previous How Tos:

Delicious No Sew Lavender Bags

Make Scented Playdough

From T to Halterneck (Guest Post)

Easy & effective Fish Pinata

Simple but effective paper frames (vlog) 

– How to make a Flower Pom Pom (guest post) – simply gorgeous – use as wedding decor! 

How to make a Paper Envelope  

How to make a No Sew Bib (out of an old shirt)  

How to make a Fabric Mâché Bowl (from old scraps of fabric!)  

How to make a Paper Flower (from newspapers)  (guest post)  

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle (Utterlyscrummy) on July 30, 2010 at 6:15 am

    What a fabulous idea! My 3 girls (aged 3, 7, and 10) could all help make these, great school holiday craft. Thanks heaps for posting it. MWAH! :o)))

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 30, 2010 at 6:25 am

      Hurray! I bet the 10yrs old in particular would like this (I remember making things at that age!). You could even do it with the sewing machine…

      Reply

  2. You are such a clever lady! A whole bag of groceries?!! You could use these to hold long hair in like scrunchies!

    Reply

  3. Oh these are just fab! I love them. Yum!

    Reply

  4. Oh what fun! I love felt food. Thanks so much for linking up to Finished for Friday.

    Reply

  5. These are some great tips… next time I attempt these- it will go so much smoother because of this. Thank you!

    Reply

  6. Those look great! I made some felt cupcakes this week, so I’m on a bit of a felt food kick at the moment. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 1, 2010 at 6:43 am

      Oooh felt cupcakes sound good! Did you post any instructions? Would love to see them!! Maggy

      Reply

  7. Very cute!! Felt food is adorable!

    Reply

  8. Those are deliciously cute!!! Love that idea;)

    Reply

  9. Just found you through Sew Cute Tuesday. Great felt food! and it looks like you have many other great ideas! I’m off to explore your blog some more!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 3, 2010 at 8:07 am

      Hi Jill! Thank you for your lovely comment!!! Do have a good nosey around – so much “stuff” – get lovely people to contribute amazing ideas, great if they get more visibility!!! Enjoy.

      Reply

  10. So cute! These would be great as favors for any sort of bruch get-together, in “flavors” to match the theme.

    Reply

  11. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  12. those are really nice!!!! thanks =)

    Reply

  13. I need to make these, definitely! What else are you going to make?

    One of my girls turns two this month, so I’d love to do a kitchen/fake food set. The felt food is always so much more appealing than the plastic stuff at the stores.

    Thanks for the tutorial!

    Reply

  14. ADORABLE!!! SOOO AWESOME!
    I’m going to be featuring this tomorrow!

    Reply

  15. Just a reminder that I featured you today! 🙂
    Thanks for linking up!!

    http://simpsonizedcraftsandthensome.blogspot.com/2010/08/socialize-with-me-monday-til-sunday_09.html

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on August 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      Oh how fabulous! Thank you so much! Have updated post with a featured button! Thank you. Maggy

      Reply

  16. Thanks for joining us at “AP Tuesdays!” @ New Nostalgia! Hope to see you again tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a comment