How to… make No Sew Lavender Bags/ Pillows!

 

Love the beautiful lavender around this time of year? Think it is a shame when it all goes to waste in a few weeks time? Don’t have the time (or inclination) to sew a lavender bag or little lavendar pillow? Look no further. No Sew Lavender Bags are here.

This is so ridiculously easy, that I am not even sure it is “worth writing a tutorial” about. If you have seen my no sew bunting or no sew apron, you will know what I am on about and hopefully agree with me.

Materials: What you will need is some pretty fabric scraps, wonderweb (or BondaWeb in the US?), dried lavender (cut fresh lavender, place in a paper bag and hang to dry), a hot iron & two tea towels (to protect the iron and ironing board).

Step 1) Cute out two squares, but “wrong” sides together – i.e. you will not be turning these inside out. Pretty side out pleased!

Step 2) Place strips of WonderWeb along 3 sides and iron hot until it is properly sealed. Turn round and iron reverse, just to make sure it is really bonded

Step 3) Fill with lavender

Step 4) Add fourth strip of WonderWeb and iron hot. The fourth strip is the trickiest, as you will not get the central and therefore hottest part of the iron on it, so make sure you really have melted the WonderWeb. If necessary, let cool and repeat

Step 5) Trim edges to neaten.

Variations:

For him: I used old shirts and jeans

For her: Iron on a piece of ribbon (using wonderweb)

For hanging: add a ribbon “loop” to one of the first 3 edges, so you can hang from a coat hanger (only thought of this AFTERWARDS)

ENJOY! And happy smelly drawers.

(PS make these now and use as fabulous stocking fillers near Christmas or surprise someone by sending one through the post!)

Previous How Tos:

Make Scented Playdough

From T to Halterneck (Guest Post)

Easy & effective Fish Pinata

Simple but effective paper frames (vlog) 

– How to make a Flower Pom Pom (guest post) – simply gorgeous – use as wedding decor! 

How to make a Paper Envelope  

How to make a No Sew Bib (out of an old shirt)  

How to make a Fabric Mâché Bowl (from old scraps of fabric!)  

How to make a Paper Flower (from newspapers)  (guest post)  

33 responses to this post.

  1. This is such a great post! How simple! I love lavendar but because you only need little bags have always felt it too fiddly to bother! Brill!

    Reply

  2. sweet and simple, and, aaaaaah, smells so good!

    Reply

  3. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by! Of course you can post my projects on here! And thanks for linking back to me! I would be honored. You have great ideas on your blog. I love it!

    http://www.makingmemorieswithyourkids.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. What a great idea!!

    Reply

  5. Another great idea! I have several kinds of lavender in my front yard right now, you’re inspiring me to get out there and keep them. I love that smell. Thanks for linking up to Finished for Friday.

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 24, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Oh yes you must I am tempted to knock on one of my unknown neighbours doors and ask for some of theirs (in return for some little bags) 😉

      Reply

  6. Great idea, good tutotial, perfect gift for a special person.

    Reply

  7. This is a great idea and one project that even I could handle-thanks for posting it!

    Best wishes,
    Natasha.

    Reply

  8. Hello…

    Don’t you just love the “no sew” method of things? Hehe! This is truly a quick and easy project but with a fabulous outcome! I love little lavender sachets! I looked for lavender at our local nursery this year…to no avail! Of course, I live in the “sticks”…and we don’t always have a wide variety of options when it comes to plants and flowers. Maybe next year! Thanks so much for sharing this great project with us for Sunday Favorites today…great post, my friend!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 25, 2010 at 5:35 pm

      Oh what a shame… but if you are lucky enough to a have a neighbour nearby with lavender…. Thank you for hosting fab link up party! X

      Reply

  9. Great idea…I must make these for gifts…want a great idea! Thanks for sharing,

    Miss Bloomers

    Reply

  10. Posted by Beeutiful by Design on July 26, 2010 at 10:25 am

    What a great idea! I love smelly drawers- oh – you know what I mean 🙂 Jennifer

    Reply

  11. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on July 26, 2010 at 10:49 am

    A cute fast project, very nice!

    Reply

  12. I have a ton of lavender in my front garden right now, and it is just starting to turn a little brown so this is perfect! No sew is right up my alley!!

    Reply

  13. What a cute idea! I love lavender, it’s smells so pretty and clean!

    I’m visiting from I Made the World Cuter Monday. Have a great day!

    Reply

  14. So fun, I love that it is no sew too!

    Reply

  15. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  16. What a neat idea!

    Reply

  17. Wonderful! I used to put lavender sachets under my son’s pillow to help him sleep. I LOVE lavender! Thanks~ Clarissa (I found you on Anything Related!)

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on July 28, 2010 at 7:42 am

      Yes, I was thinking of putting it in my children’s bed. Lavender is so calming! Will have to make some more! Enjoy making some!!

      Reply

  18. Ok, I’ve gotta try this Woder Web stuff. And, I absolutely adore lavender. I fill my house with the smell. It is so calming.

    Reply

  19. What a great idea. I love the smell of lavender and it’s such a great kids craft idea! Of course you should post it!

    Reply

  20. We appreciate you joining us this week at Anything Related!
    {Rebekah}

    Reply

  21. Posted by ldyjarhead on July 29, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    I don’t sew, but even I could make these in a jiffy. What a cute idea!

    Reply

  22. Awesome! I sew everything but I might just have to try wonderweb, just to mix things up a bit 😉
    This would be a great gift for my mom! Thanks for socializing with me Monday til Sunday.

    Reply

  23. Ok, so I totally need to pull some of that out and fix my pants, that is a really neat thing to do and the stocking stuffer idea is great! Thank you for linking to It’s Stinkin’ Cute Craft Thursday!

    Reply

Leave a comment