How to… make Fabric Pom Pom Flowers (Guest Post)

  
 How lovely! This post was featured on   New NostalgiaWell, Anjie did do a rather grand job, no?!
  

Fabric Pom Pom Flowers

How wonderful! Anji over at the Pom Pom Emporioum has made this WONDERFUL tudorial for us! Scroll down to the bottom, to see my “quick and ready go at it”! And now to Anji:  

Hi my name is Anjie, over from http://www.pompomemporium.com/ doing a guest blog exchange with Maggy.   

Fabric flowers – Alliums from pom poms  

Last week I wanted to make some pom poms from fabric, in particular try out some purple organza I had. I have noticed fabric pom poms seem to be a popular decoration at weddings at the moment, I get a lot of hits on my website from search engines looking for fabric pom poms for this purpose.  

To start with I tore the organza into long strips (the width of the fabric) of about 1.5cm wide, tearing makes the fabric nice and ‘hairy’. From the strips I made my pom pom in the traditional way, winding the fabric round and around two cardboard discs (a basic pom pom tutorial can be found here.   

The finished pom pom looked like an Allium flower, it just needed a stem.  

Wooden skewers from my kitchen fitted the bill, just the right size, a quick coat of green acrylic paint and I had a stem.  I  was very pleased with the result so I made two more. White pom poms given the same treatment might look like dandelion seed heads.  

Organza strips

  

Winding the Pom Pom

  

Cutting the Pom Pom

  

Painting the Stems

  

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

Aren’t they simply GORGEOUS? I love the so simple idea of painting the stems by holding them in place with blue tack. I tried these with “normal” fabric and it doesn’t work, as it is too thick! So it really has to be organza – especially for that whispy look. Not having any organza and wanting to give everything a  go, that I post,  I did it with some tissue paper: Not as amazing, but still pretty. Thank you Anji for your FABULOUS post! Please DO pop over to Anjie’s as a “thank you” and explore the other wonderful things she makes!  

My attempt: Tissue Paper Pom Pom

More “How to…”s: 

How to make a Paper Envelope 

How to make a No Sew Bib (out of an old shirt) 

How to make a Fabric Mâché Bowl (from old scraps of fabric!) 

How to make a Paper Flower (from newspapers)  (guest post) 

20 responses to this post.

  1. How cute! What a great idea! I’ll definitely have to give it a try! Thanks for linking to Poppies at Play! Have a wonderful summer!
    XOXO,
    Andy

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on May 30, 2010 at 6:39 am

      It is lovely, isn’t it? Anjie is very clever!!!! Love linking up!! Thank your for “hosting”!! x

      Reply

  2. Love using the organza! So pretty!
    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Liz

    Reply

  3. Wow, how cute!

    Reply

  4. Very cute idea!

    Reply

  5. Love those pom pom fllower thanks for the how to
    Your turned out so pretty!

    Reply

  6. What a great idea and so simple. Love it.

    Reply

  7. Awww, thats really cute! How sweet would a big vase of those be in a little girls room?!?!?!? 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to gettin’ crafty on hump day! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Love these with the organza! So pretty!!!

    Reply

  9. what a cool craft and so pretty there are so many different colors you could use there would be a rainbow of flowers

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 3, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      I love the idea of a Rainbow of flowers!! We are currently all into rainbows (rainbow cookies next week! Yum!)

      Reply

  10. That is too cute! It looks like something I might could make and I’m not crafty. LOL!

    Reply

  11. cool! Happy Transformation Thursday ❤

    Reply

  12. very pretty, wold love these as a package topper flower. thanks for sharing at “AP Tuesdays!”

    Reply

  13. Thanks for linking up! I featured your idea on my blog today! Come grab a featured button!

    http://sumossweetstuff.blogspot.com/2010/06/saturday-showcase.html

    Reply

  14. just wanted to let you know i featured this post today. thanks again for linking up to “AP Tuesdays!”

    Reply

  15. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  16. Now this is fabulous~ Well done!

    Reply

Leave a comment