Books x 3 – A little Spanish anyone?

Little M

A few weeks back, I did a post on German books for toddlers. The response was so good, that I thought I would regularly feature “foreign language” books. Today we have some Spanish books. As I only speak very little Spanish, I decided to get another bilingual family to Guest Post for you! Do go and visit Little M at Mummy’s Busy World for a lovely blog written fom his point of view! So, without further a do I give you Little M and his favourite reads:

Hi there, its Little M here doing a guest post for Red Ted Arts book review Monday. Some of you may know me, I’ve got my own blog Mummy’s Busy World by me, Little M . If you haven’t seen it, you should – I’ve got lots of funny stories to tell!  I’m a half Chilean/ half American tot growing up in the UK and mami (that’s mummy in Spanish) wants me to grow up speaking both languages.  Not only does she speak to me in Spanish, but she reads books in Spanish too!

We have a big selection, but a few of my favourite books in Spanish that I recommend reading are:

Dora's Opposites/Opuestos de Dora: In English and Spanish!/En Ingles y En Espanol! (Dora the Explorer (Simon Spotlight))

1.        Opuestos de Dora/ Dora’s Opposites (Simon and Schuster Nickelodeon) I’m sure most of you know Dora the Explorer. Mami and I like this book because it has very colourful pictures, has words both in English and Spanish so it is easier to understand, and helps those who don’t already know Spanish learn faster. Oh, and it’s very yummy to chew on! (I just couldn’t resist!) There I am on the sofa reading the book before bed.

Elmo y Sus Amigos Look & Find Book

2.       Elmo y Sus Amigos – Elmo and his Friends (Publications International) Did you know that Elmo speaks Spanish too? ¡Si! My Auntie D gave me this book for my first birthday and it’s a great to have mami describe all of the pictures in the book. I personally like looking at the bright colours on all of the pages since there isn’t much reading required, and Elmo also teaches us about animals and numbers!

But my most favourite book of all – the one that really, REALLY makes mami and daddy laugh is…

Todos Hacemos Caca / Everyone Poops (My Body Science)

3.       Todos Hacemos Caca by Taro Gomi (Everyone Poops) – Yes, you read right! It’s a book about poo! Daddy still can’t believe there is a book about this. He acts very proper but like the book says, “everyone poops” whether you speak English or Spanish, ha ha ha! It shows animals pooing, little kids pooing, fish pooing, everyone! It just reminds me that I’m not the only one. So why does mami complain so much about me if she does it too?! Hmmm? Now there’s something to think about.

I have many more books if you are interested. Just let me know and I can recommend a few more. Please do come visit me on my site Mummy’s Busy World, by me, Little M  for more stories, recommendations on things I like and new discoveries as I get older!

¡Muchas gracias!

Beso,

Little M

8 responses to this post.

  1. great post!
    thanks for sharing your link on Serendipity Home School.

    Reply

  2. It’s great to see a big nonfiction favorite available in Spanish!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Lori

    Reply

  3. We love bilingual books – thanks for the recommendations!

    Reply

  4. I am going to bookmark this post, as Selena is starting to get interested in Spanish.

    Thank you for linking up this week!

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 5, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      Lovely! So pleased the post will come in handy! Will do more Spanish books in future, but have to wait a couple of months!

      Reply

  5. Thanks for linking up on my mom blog! Oh how I wish I could teach my B a foreign language. I’ve heard there are some pretty good DVD’s out there now too. Kim at MomTriedIt.net is using DVD to help her kids learn German. I’m getting inspired:)

    Reply

    • Posted by Red Ted Art on June 6, 2010 at 9:47 am

      Oh yes, she has a great suggestion! We are bilingual English/ German, but I do try and teach him a few other words too, to broaden his horizon a little!!

      Reply

  6. Posted by Amy @ Hope Is the Word on June 8, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Great post! It’s never too early to start introducing new languages! Thanks for linking up to Read Aloud Thursday!

    Reply

Leave a comment