How to… make a Funny Bunny Sock Pet (Guest Post)

 

Finished!

Well, here we have another lovely lovely Guest Post. This time from The Other Mousie – remember Monsieur Alphonse Poissonnier in Red Get Crafty? Well… here we have a super duper easy bunny version to make with children!  (Scroll down to bottom for my attempt!)

***Please note – enjoy the tutorial make these with your kids. Have fun. Link back. Above all – This design may not be copied for commercial purposes.***  

Here we go:  

My Funny Bunny   

I’m obsessed with socks – I love them – the colour, the variety , the feel – oooh I could go on…!It’s no surprise then, that I always have plenty of socks at my house, it gets embarrassing for my older children when we’re out & about these days & I’m cooing over socks saying things like ‘oh this could be… ‘ and ‘doesn’t this sock look like…’  

Anyway they weren’t too embarrassed to be involved in this sock creature activity I devised – in fact we ended up with a whole warren of bunnies – well you know what they say about rabbits.  Just a couple of big knots is all you need to make this simple no sew sock creation, so even the youngest crafter can make it with a little help from an adult.  

So here goes…  

You will need  

  • A sock
  • Felt scraps
  • PVA glue
  • Scissors
  • Stuffing –this can be toy stuffing, shredded paper, newspaper, cut up bubble wrap or even old tights

   

1)     Take your sock & fold it out so that the sole & heel are entirely flat (not in half like your usually see socks).Carefully using the scissors cut down the middle of the sock from the toe until you are about 1cm away from the start of the heel. These will be the ears of the bunny so the longer the sock the floppier those bunny ears!  

2)     Turn the sock inside out. Tie a knot at the cuff end (that’s the bit that holds your sock up) younger people may need some help here.  

3)     Turn your sock the right way round again & using whatever stuffing you have stuff until you reach the top of the opening. Make sure you are happy with the shape.  

4)     When you’re happy tie a big knot (or two) this closes the body & makes the ears hang down each side.  

5)     Using the scissors carefully cut out different shapes for your bunny face. You can do any kind of face you like – I’ve just kept mine really simple – and glue them on.  

6)     Your bunny is ready to be released!  

You can have such fun with these little creatures, let your imagination run wild making bunny families & maybe even designing a warren. It’s such a cheap & cheerful activity too  – that’s got to be a bonus these days!  

This design may not be copied for commercial purposes.  

If you enjoyed this post, why not check out The Other Mousie’s shops and see what so on offer!!  

  
 
 
 

The Englishman's old sock!

I used The Englishmans old socks – had to roughly darn the heel first! Hope he, erm, won’t miss them!! I love the idea of using newspaper or bubble wrap. As I have a 6 month old in the house, I used newspaper in my bunny – nice and safe! When children are older, you could use fun buttons as eyes too!  An old pillow case and jeans scraps for eyes and nose! Done. Took me 10min. As I write, Red Ted is napping, but I know he will be VERY excited to meet this little fella once he gets up. Bunnies rock in our house!  

  Previous How Tos: 

 – Simple but effective paper frames (vlog) 

– How to make a Flower Pom Pom (guest post) – simply gorgeous – use as wedding decor! 

How to make a Paper Envelope  

How to make a No Sew Bib (out of an old shirt)  

How to make a Fabric Mâché Bowl (from old scraps of fabric!)  

How to make a Paper Flower (from newspapers)  (guest post)  

 
 
 

 

25 responses to this post.

  1. OH this is just so cute and and a wonderful idea.. Thanks for taking the time to join in and play along. I loved this cute idea. Enjoy your weekend. Thanks again..

    Reply

  2. These sock bunnies are just too cute!

    Reply

  3. What a cute sock idea.
    Thanks for sharing.

    My `Round Robin` is up

    Reply

  4. What a cute idea! I giggled about your constant sock analysis. 😉 I can imagine some socks make for cuter critters than others! This looks like a fun project and, you know what? I don’t really like monkeys, so this is a fun alternative. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Very cute! My kid would love to make one of those!

    XOXO
    Jen

    Reply

  6. Might have to make one for the baby GS!

    Reply

  7. These are so cute!! I will have to make one soon, my Charli would love it! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by theothermousie on June 13, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Thank you all for your lovely comments, it was wonderful to be asked to create a ‘make’ too! x

    Reply

  9. What an awesome idea! 😀

    Reply

  10. Very cute!!!!

    Reply

  11. Adorable!!! Loving this cute crafty blog, I’ll follow for more fun!

    Reply

  12. so sweet and easy

    Reply

  13. What an amazing transformation! You are so clever!

    Reply

  14. Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

    Reply

  15. Too cute! Thanks for the tutorial!

    Reply

  16. Just popped over from All Thingz Related…
    This is so cute! My kids would love to make one. I’ll have to find some cute stripey socks and save them 😉

    Reply

  17. This is an adorable idea! They are super cute! I love the striped sock. Thanks so much for joining the Sunday Showcase! I greatly appreciate it! Hope you have a wonderful week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

    Reply

  18. Would love it if you would join me for my 2nd linky party tonight!!

    http://lifeinmypjs.blogspot.com/2010/06/pajama-party-2.html

    ~Ela

    Reply

  19. So cute! You could make a whole forest of sock friends!

    Thanks so much for sharing at My Backyard Eden!

    ~Carolyn

    Reply

  20. Lots of single socks around here! You’re right- different materials and fuzziness, could make a totally different character.

    Reply

  21. Awwww. These are so cute and little ones can help make them too. I love it! Thank you for linking!

    Reply

  22. Soo cute! Thanks for linking up to Tot Tuesdays!

    Reply

Leave a comment